Travel

Destination Mumbai : Part Four

A/N: This is the fourth and final post in my Destination Mumbai series. It is an account of my experiences in Mumbai during the summer. Hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! 🙂

Where beauty is everywhere

 

The day before my trip ended, we decided to visit the Gateway of India. Staying now at Andheri, where my other aunt’s house was situated, we drove amidst the raging evening traffic. It was about two hours later that we reached the place.

 

Built under British rule, the Gateway of India is a 26 metre high arch overlooking the Arabian Sea, built to commemorate the arrival of King George V and Queen Mary in 1911.

 

As I stepped out of the car and looked at this majestic monument, I was blown away by the sheer size of it. My love for grand buildings added to it. It was the first Indian monument I have had the luck to visit in my 20 years and it was every bit worth it.

 

The huge arch, on the banks of the Arabian waters, was inviting yet radiating an aura of power. The architecture, a combination of the Hindu and Muslim styles, was an exemplary of ancient Indian architecture.

 

After admiring the larger than life structure, we took a boat ride near the Gateway. As we circled on the water, the sun sunk for the night. Looking at the Gateway and the famous Taj Hotel beyond that, past the shining sea, my trip became whole. I felt whole.

 

As our flight took off at night the next day, I looked down on Mumbai, awake even at midnight. It was truly the city of lights. I watched with a smile as the city grew smaller.

 

It had been a beautiful journey. I would like to end it with a beautiful quote by Ralph Ellison,

 

“You have to leave home to find home.”

Leave a comment